Thanks for Giving: November 15 is Fast Approaching

An Elegant Evening in the new TBS Social Hall


Please join your Temple Beth Sholom family for an exceptional evening of cocktails, fine dining, outstanding entertainment and special “thank yous” to those who have helped to make the dream of a new TBS campus a reality. This very special evening will begin at 5:30 pm, with cocktails in the new Winston Family Living Room, on the east entrance to the Fainbarg Family Sanctuary.

Joyce Kahn Mogabgab and Hollis O’Brien, Thanks for Giving co-chairs, and their committee, promise a full evening of activities for event guests. The Ron Kobayashi Trio will provide the evening’s entertainment. And the glass artists who crafted the gorgeous windows in the sanctuary, Steve Klein and Richard Parrish will share information on the various techniques that were applied in producing these stunning pieces.

Honorary chairs for Thanks for Giving include Bernie and Brad Horwitz, who generously funded our new Horowitz Family Chapel; and TBS philanthropist Patti Widdicombe, chair of the pre-event major donor reception.

Parties by Pinache will cater the evening’s sumptuous dinner. The menu will have something to please every palate. Fine wine and other libations will be served throughout the evening.

In addition to thanking all who generously donated time, money and other resources, Thanks for giving is a rare opportunity to help put us over the top in fully funding the campaign to rebuild and remodel the Temple Beth Sholom campus.

“Our talented architects, construction company, and project manager have been beyond incredible,” said facility design chairman Dan Weissberg. “The entire TBS congregation extends our thanks and heart-felt gratitude for their inspiring designs, outstanding planning, and meticulous attention to matters practical and awe-inspiring.”


Project Manager: Richard Lewis

Architects: Berliner Architects, Culver City

Construction: Del Amo Construction, Torrance


A special thanks is extended to the Thanks for Giving committee members:

Joyce Kahn Mogabgab, Co-Chair, Hollis O’Brien, Co-Chair

Sherry Herstone, Lisa Litman, Jeff and Karen Merkow, Stacy Nagel, Elaine Schwartz. Bill Shane, Renee Siembieda, Dave Silberfarb, Marla Vaughter, Karen Warren, Linda Weissberg, Caron and Jeff Winston.


The TBS family thanks the Living Legacy Committee:

Jeff Winston, Chair

Susie Amster, Rabbi Heidi Cohen, Stuart Einbinder, Harvey Grossberg, Warren Hennagin, Bernie Horwitz, Lynn Matassarin, Jeff Merkow, Jerry Rothblum, Elaine Schwartz, Andrea Wasserman, Linda and Dan Weissberg.


If you haven’t yet RSVP’d for this special evening, please do so now – mail in your RSVP card, or RSVP online at

Comments are closed.